Monday, April 13, 2015

LTA KPOP EP 60: Top 10 SM Artists

SM is an entertainment company, founded by Lee Soo Man. The company operates a record label, talent agency, travel agency, film production company, music production company, event management and concert production firm as well as a music publishing house. SM is one of the three biggest record labels in the KPOP industry alongside YG and JYP Entertainment. 
10. Kangta

Kangta became a solo artist in 2001 after the boy band H.O.T disband. He is also a songwriter, composer and actor.

9. Zhang Liyin

Zhang Liyin known better as Jang Ri In, is a Chinese singer active in both China and South Korea. She is a member of the unit group S.M The Ballad. She debuted in 2006 in Korea and in 2008 she hit the Chinese market.

8. SHINee

SHINee is a 5-member group debuted in 2008 consists of Onew, Jonghyun, Key, Minho, and Taemin. In 2011, they hit the Japanese market.

7. BoA

BoA is a solo artists debuted in 2000. Right after her debut she hit the Japanese market, she is known as the the Queen of Korean Pop. She became the first Korean pop star to break though in Japan. In 2008, she debuted in US. She also active as a actress, acting in American movie 'Make Your Move'. She also was a judge on the reality TV competition KPOP STAR until season 2.

6. Red Velvet

Red Velvet debuted as a four-member girl group with the members Irene, Seulgi, Wendy and Joy. All the members was introduce to the citizens part of S.M Rookies. The group debut with the song 'Happiness' and a remake of 'Be Natural' from SES, a former girl group under SM. In 2015, with the comeback of 'Ice Cream,' a new member was introduce to the citizen name Yeri, who was part of the S.M Rookies.


TVXQ debuted as a five-member group in 2003 with members Changmin, Yunho, Yoochun, Junsu, and Jaejoong. They have success in Korea and Japan until July of 2009, members Jaejoong, Yoochun, and Junsu filed a lawsuit against SM. After a long hiatus Changmin and Yunho cameback as a duo group in 2011. In 2015, member Yunho is enlist for service.

4. Super Junior

Super Junior debuted as a 12-member group in 2005, the 13th member join in 2006. The member consist of Leeteuk, Heechul, Hankyung, Yesung, Kangin, Shindong, Sungmin, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Siwon, Ryeowook, Kibum, and Kyuhyun. In 2009, they release 'Sorry Sorry' there hit song with a year at number one in Taiwan. Super Junior have 5 other sub unit groups. For one of their most successful sub unit group, they added two more members, Henry and Zhou Mi. The group have gone through member line up changes since 2009. Kibum is inactive as a member of Super Junior and pursuing his acting career. Kangin announced his hiatus to fulfill his mandatory military service in October of 2009. Hankyung also filed for contract termination from SM in December of 2009. In 2011, Heechul left temporarily for military service. In 2012, member Kangin rejoin Super Junior and leader Leeteuk to leave for military service. Yesung also enlist for military service in 2013. In August of 2014, Leeteuk and Heecul rejoin Super Junior for their seventh album. In 2014, Sungmin confirmed he was dating actress Kim Sa Eun in September and announced that we would be marrying her in December 2014. In 2015, both Shindong and Sungmin enlisted for military service.

3. f(x)

f(x) is a five-member nulti-national KPOP group debuted in 2009. The member consist of Victoria, Amber, Luna, Sulli and Krystal.

2. EXO

EXO is a Chinese-South Korean boy band split into two sub unit groups: EXO-K and EXO-M. The members consists of 12 members Suho, Baekhyun, Chanyeol, DO, Kai, Sehun, Xiumin, Luhan, Kris, Lay, Chen, and Tao. In May 2014, Kris filed a lawsuit against SM and later in October 2014, Luhan filed against SM too.

EXO-K consists of Suho, Baekhyun, Chanyeol, DO, Kai and Sehun. EXO-M consists of Xiumin, Lay,Chen, Tao and former members Luhan and Kris.


SNSD or Girls' Generation is a 9-member group debuted in 2007, up until September 2014, it became a eight-member group after Jessica was dismiss from the group. The group consists of Taeyeon, Jessica, Sunny, Tiffany, Yuri, Hyoyeon, Sooyoung, Yoona, and Seohyun. The group went through a lot of member line up changes before debuting as a 9-member girl group. They are known as Korea Top Girl Group with hit songs like 'Gee' and 'Genie'.

Name some of your favorite SM artists and/or biases! 

No comments:

Post a Comment